Work

https://twitter.com/SuzeLavender https://twitter.com/Annieksnowroses https://www.facebook.com/SuzeLavender/?ref=bookmarks https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/with-love-for-books-14626323 https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/29148122-suzanne https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/46780725-anniek https://plus.google.com/u/0/108289270387325642684 https://www.facebook.com/lavender.smith.750 http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/pdp/profile/ADAJ62S65XLVH/ref=cm_cr_dp_pdp https://www.amazon.com/gp/profile/amzn1.account.AEWOFGDZJMGNMC36BUAXVIQPDVRQ?ie=UTF8&ref_=pe_1098610_137716200_cm_rv_eml_rv0_pf
Review Request Sign up for Newsletters Tips and ideas Write for us

Follow by Email

Monday, October 15, 2018

Talented Artist - Jen from Miss Bohemia - Interview & Giveaway

Miss Bohemia
About Jen

I love working on new ideas and watching them come to life - it's like magic! My inspiration comes from books, films, nature, love & life experiences! I am a romantic, a bohemian, a book nerd and so much more!

My shop is filled with a mix of literary classic and modern designs ranging from book mugs to jewellery. I seek to offer amazing gift experiences for bookish fans and creative souls. You'll find something for everyone and lots of wonderful gift ideas!

Fans of Austen, The Brontes and Sherlock will take delight in these literary choices and there's designs that will inspire writers and readers alike!

Products include: book mugs, bookish jewellery, literary prints, clothing, bags and other accessories.

Links


Interview

1) Can you tell our readers a bit about yourself?

Hello to all, I’m Jen and I’m the owner of Miss Bohemia, an online literary gift shop created just for book lovers! In my previous life (what I call my old 9 to 5 jobs) before I finally connected back with my creative side and began doing what I love;- creating, designing and making gifts for myself and those who love books as much as I do. I love in London, a place which never sleeps and where you can never run out of things to do such as going to the theatre, a library and one of my favourite places – the bookshop! I also love tea, coffee and chocolate!


2) What’s the inspiration behind your work?

With a love for books, art and a vivid imagination from a very young age, the path was set for me to end up doing what I do. I find inspiration absolutely everywhere but it all stems from the magical ability books have to transport us somewhere else – a different story, a different place, a different time. I think Neil Gaiman says it best “A book is a dream that you hold in your hands." How can you not being inspired by books! I also draw inspiration from things that I’ve seen like ‘The Phantom of the Opera’ musical, songs, nature and my favourite type of inspiration - things my imagination conjurs up in my head! My love for tea and coffee definitely seeps into most of my designs – I love creating new mug designs the most!


3) Where did you learn how to design?

I did study art at college but I would probably say that for what I do now, a lot of it is self-taught. When you run a creative business, trial and error plays a big part and I like the experimentational aspect of seeing if something will work. Using Photoshop and Illustrator was and will probably always be a challenge for me but it’s amazing seeing your words and designs take form as you dream then create them into existence.


4) What does your work place look like?

Usually very messy haha but I like to think of it as creative chaos! I usually do a big tidy-up at the end of each day but working on so many different projects means having easy access to lots of different products, materials and tools is vital. I usually know where everything is and it’s rare that I can’t find what I’m looking for. They’ll be papers laid out, tester mugs, fabrics, inks, camera equipment, with cold mugs of tea or coffee thrown in for good measure. Having said all that I absolutely love my workspace – it’s perfect for me!


5) You use a lot of quotes, how does a quote end up on your products, do you select them while reading or do you read a story first and look for quotes later?

I’ve always had favourite lines from poetry, books and films – ones that stand out and that make you feel something. This is where that attention to detail comes in – I don’t usually select quotes while reading (I might think wow that was a powerful line then continue reading) - it’s usually after I’ve read or seen something that it will be stuck in my head and later on I’ll be thinking of it. If I can’t fully remember it, I’ll look it up and jot it down. Some quotes are so well known that you’re probably familiar with them before having read a book by the author. Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte quotes are often like that but one of the best things about reading is that you can always fine lesser known lines that are just as powerful. I also like to create my own quotes and look for more obscure relatively unknown ones too.


6) Can you tell a bit more about how you started your store?

I actually started off making small booked themed jewellery pieces by adding charms and learning skills such as wire wrapping by watching videos. This was mostly for myself and friends but I had so much interest in them that I set up a shop on Etsy. It was all very daunting because I was new to running a business and didn’t know anything about things like international shipping etc. I didn’t really expect it to lead anywhere but my shop, which only had about 5 products initially, did well on there. It was a few years back and Etsy was only really known in the USA, and I remember the amazing feeling I felt that those US shoppers connected with and purchased from my little shop all the way in the UK! The love for books is everywhere!


7) How do you capture the atmosphere of a story and turn it into a matching design?

Some ideas are based on existing books and the design will usually be based on how I felt when reading the book/poetry and will be dependent on the quote I want to use. For example, for a Poe design, it will usually inspire a melancholy feeling and something gothic. I would see it in red and black, darkish greys, dramatic lettering and extra additions like a raven and crows. For other stories with elegant quotes, I might see them as dreamy florals, delicate lettering with swirls and swishes. I also love mixing elements together so you might see a romantic gothic design or something so colourful and vivid that shouldn’t work but just does.


8) You make beautiful bookish items, where does your love for books come from?

I’ve loved books for as long as I can remember and I think my mum reading to me and my siblings played a big part in my love for books. I was a typical day-dreamer and with a vivid imagination, it often seems like books were made just for me. Stories are amazing, and I just cannot get enough of them. I don’t stick to one particular genre (it would just never be enough for me) and I don’t think there’s a genre that I wouldn’t read.


9) What do you like the most about having your own shop?

After I got over the shock of realising I had to do all the jobs/roles someone else would do if I was working in/for a company e.g. IT fixer, printer fixer, marketer, seller, photographer, purchaser, accounting, packing and more, and find time to create/design, I appreciated the how lucky I am. I love the creative freedom that it gives me. I love that I can work when my brain is at its most creative e.g. very early in the morning or late at night. I love working on designs that draw in the different seasons of the year especially my Autumn and Christmas. I love seeing my work come to life and I love that other people (my lovely customers) are able to share my dreams through those products too! It’s a lot of hard work but I wouldn’t want to do anything else.


10) What are your plans for the future?

I plan to continue creating and design new products and I’d like to introduce some new products e.g. more heavily designed tote bags, cushions, bedding etc. I’d also like to learn to do lettering by hand so I can manipulate the letters/text more than I am able to do with set fonts. I would also love to add in more different colours and textures for mugs and add metallic accents and engraved work in some way.


Giveaway

Mugs
One very lucky reader of With Love for Books will receive a mug of choice from Miss Bohemia.


The winner will be notified by email and has 3 days to respond. All of our giveaways are international.


37 comments:

  1. The quality and design look amazing. Unique, fun and lovely colours too.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lovely designs, would make great gifts.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh I do love a good mug - my cupboards are bursting with mugs I took a shine to!!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Mugs are one of my favourite bookish items and yours are lovely.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Mugs and pillows are my favorite.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Love your designs, so pretty and unique!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Your designs are so cute and bookish it seriously Effects
    THE Book lover in me

    ReplyDelete
  8. I really like the 'I'd rather be reading' cuff.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love all of your pieces. Great talent.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I've been following you for a looong time. I adore your stuff, so pretty.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I absolutely love the Though she be but little, she is fierce Mug.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Jen, I love your stuff! Great mugs! Thank you

    ReplyDelete
  13. I absolutely love these mugs!

    ReplyDelete
  14. The mugs are all so lovely

    ReplyDelete
  15. I looked at the store on etsy. I love everything. Above all the cups of Alice in Wonderland

    ReplyDelete
  16. Such cute items! I especially love the Made for TV Christmas Movies Mug! So perfect for me!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Beautiful designs

    ReplyDelete
  18. I just love so many items from Miss Bohemia, especially the coffee mugs!

    ReplyDelete
  19. I love the designs, there really unique

    ReplyDelete
  20. I love your designs, Jen! So gorgeous!

    ReplyDelete
  21. I think I'm in love with all your designs *-*

    ReplyDelete
  22. I've been wanting my own special mug and your designs are gorgeous.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Lovely creativity! each design is more gorgeous than the last.

    ReplyDelete
  24. Your mugs are so beautiful. I love them

    ReplyDelete
  25. The mugs are amazing, my Mum would love the Phantom one as she had one for years and unfortunately my great-niece accidentally dropped it. Thanks for the chance. Loved looking on the Etsy shop, it took forever to pick one item as I kept changing my mind.

    ReplyDelete
  26. Lovely mugs I'd love one I always have a favourite mug to use

    ReplyDelete
  27. Thanks for the great prize and competition. Good luck everyone!

    ReplyDelete
  28. So many great pieces in the shop! I love the mugs :)

    ReplyDelete
  29. I love your stuff! love the cups the best!

    ReplyDelete